10 Questions – Harriet

This month Harriet from Lavender Barn Baby Massage answers our 10 Questions:

Tell us abit about yourself…..

Hi I’m Harri and I run Lavender Barn Baby Massage from the beautiful woodland valley of Lamorna. 

The five week course I teach is compiled by the International Association of Infant Massage, the oldest and most trusted massage school in the U.K. They have a presence in over 75 countries worldwide and many studies looking into benefits of massage are based on using the IAIM strokes, so I’m really proud to be part of such a fantastic organisation which puts parents at the forefront of all they do. 

Parents learning with me would learn a full body massage and some gentle movements over five weeks, at babies pace, with the aim of improving sleep patterns, reducing wind/colic and most importantly creating strong bonds of attachment between parent and baby. We also have plenty of time for chat and discussion during sessions so parents can share ideas and meet some people who know exactly what they are going through as a new parent. 

I’m going to be taking a short break in the new year to have a baby. It will be fantastic to be able to have a refresher on being a new parent again that I can put to good use in my classes. 

How do you manage a work/life balance?

I’m very fortunate to be able to do a job I really love. I’d actually love to teach more classes. 

I think for anyone it’s hard to dedicate time to actual fun life things instead of doing home/garden jobs that also need doing around paid work. Luckily I have a gorgeous 3 year old who is my ‘fun mentor’ and makes sure I get out to the beach, woods or park at least once a day to play with her!

What do you like to do when you have time away from your children?

So much! I’m passionate about gardening so spend as much time as I can with my plants, be that flowers or veg. I also wrote, illustrated and self published a book called ‘The Cornish Mythellonium’ and am currently writing my first novel.  I really enjoy having dates with my partner whether that’s yoga in the front room, creating art for our house, or playing in the sea. We are still renovating our barn so no children is a great time to get some DIY out the way! I also really enjoy being able to go for walks at a normal brisk pace without having to collect a selection of rocks, sticks and leaves on the way 

What do you like about the community in Cornwall?

I like the diversity of people Cornwall attracts, from the wonderful artists and musicians who live here to those who have had really exciting lives and come to settle down you never know who you are going to meet! 

Describe parenting in three words

Light and Dark

Best parenting advice you’ve ever received?

None!

Where is your happy place?

Anywhere new. I love to see new things and travel so I have no fixed happy place. 

What advice would you give to someone who’s just starting out as a parent or carer?

Every child is so different and as there is no fixed manual we are all making it up right?

What have you learnt about yourself since becoming a parent?

I need vastly more sleep than I thought I did. You hear about sleep deprivation pre parenthood and think how it can’t be that bad – ha! I’m sure most people are better parents before they have children though….

What are your goals for next year? 

To finish and get my novel published, set up another new business, extend my rose garden, have a baby and get fit again, hopefully with lots of fun on the beach in between.

Thank you Harriet!

Check out Harriet’s website: https://lavender-barn-iaim-baby-massage.square.site/home or get in touch with her via IG https://www.instagram.com/lavenderbabymassagecornwall/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: